your image here

Scottish Rite / Northern Masonic Jurisdiction


The 4th through 14th degrees are called the Ineffable Degrees because their principal purpose is the investigation and contemplation of the ineffable name of the Deity. The degrees amplify the legend of the Master Mason degree, and stories of the biblical era, leading up to the building of King Solomon’s Temple. These degrees are designed to impress more forcefully the teachings of the first three degrees. Each of our degrees takes it theme from one of the many names of God, “God is Love”, “God is Merciful”, “God is Just”. Scottish Rite Masons know that they are not perfect, but that there is a path to Perfection. In the Fourteenth Degree, the final and climactic lesson of the Lodge of Perfection is revealed, a belief in the ever living and true God and a deep reverence for His Holy Name. It is a profoundly religious degree, not dealing in a particular doctrine, but encouraging each of us to worship God at an altar of our individual choice. It is expressive of the deep spiritual roots of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite and of our constant endeavor to attain that perfection of character embodied in our concept of a loving Heavenly Father, a personal God. 4th through the 14th Degrees of Scottish Rite Masonry

4° - Master Traveler
Here is the introduction to Scottish Rite Masonry. This degree provides us with a preview of the moral truths we shall witness on our journey through the Scottish Rite
5° - Perfect Master
This degree teaches us that selfish thoughts and unworthy ambitions will corrupt and destroy a man.
6° - Master of the Brazen Serpent
We learn from this degree that we must have faith in ourselves, faith in each other, and faith in God.
7° - Provost and Judge
Justice should be impartial and tempered with mercy. This degree teaches us that we should not judge hastily.
8° - Intendant of the Building
We are reminded in this degree that each new honor is a step toward moral perfection. Each honor earned requires attention to a particular duty.
9° - Master of the Temple
The message of this degree is that mutual belief in a Supreme Being should bind all men together in a worldwide brotherhood.
10° - Master Elect
We learn in this degree that a person who violates his obligations, regardless of his station in life, will not go unpunished.
11° - Sublime Master Elected
This degree dramatizes the importance of good citizenship, that honesty and respect for others should be rewarded.
12° - Master of Mercy
Exemplified in this degree is the quality of forgiveness, not just to forego the opportunity for revenge, but to cease to feel enmity or resentment toward the transgressor.
13° - Master of the Ninth Arch
This degree teaches us that difficulties and dangers, however great, should not deter us from progressing toward moral and ethical improvement.
14° - Grand Elect Mason
As the summit of Ancient Craft Masonry, this degree impresses us with the holiness of God and the reverence due His Holy Name.
The Scottish Rite Fourteenth degree ring is a flat, plain band of gold, and embossed thereon is a plate in the form of an equilateral triangle and within the triangle is the Hebrew letter yod , the initial letter of Jehovah in Hebrew (YHVH, pronounced: yod hey vow hey). Inside the ring is inscribed the Fourteenth Degree Motto: Virtus Junxit, Mors Non Separabit (What Virtue has united, death shall not separate). The rings circle expresses the unbreakable fraternal bond between Masons of all generations. Upon the death of the owner, the ring should go into the hands of his widow, eldest son, the friend who was loved above all others, or another Scottish Rite Mason. Degrees of the Lodge of Perfection.
Return home
Valley of Lower Delaware | Milton , Delaware